Coming soon…

The Former CThe Former Chief Executive by Kate Vanehief Executive

Without your past, who are you?

Deborah was a respected hospital manager until a tragedy destroyed her reputation. She has lost her career, her husband and even her name.

Luca wants to stay in the moment. For the first time in his life he has hope and a home. But a fresh start is hard on a zero-hours contract, harder if old voices fill your mind.

When a garden share scheme brings them together, Deborah is beguiled by Luca’s youth and grace. He makes her husband’s garden live again. He helps her when she’s at her lowest. But can she trust him? And when the time comes to confront her past, can she find the strength?

This sharply drawn short novel explores the distance between the generations – between health and wealth, owners and workers, guilt and blame.

The Former Chief Executive will be published on Amazon on Thursday 8 June in paperback and Kindle.

Published novels

Not the End is a literary novel, Recognition is crime. Both are available on Kindle and are free with Kindle Unlimited (links take you to Amazon).

not the end kate vane cover 2017Not the End

This is the story of a drowning, a heatwave and a painting that shouldn’t exist.

The death of octogenarian sea swimmer Maud Smith doesn’t excite much interest in the Devon seaside town of Dormouth, but it changes the lives of three people she never met.

Insomniac Brenda, walking her dog on the beach at dawn, finds Maud’s body and loses a husband. Now her house is falling down.

Jim, reluctant Londoner and heir hunter, loves birds, fresh air and suddenly, Maud’s neighbour. Maud’s tangled past with a local artist might just change his future, but he has a mortgage on a basement and a woman who’s not ready to let go.

Cemetery manager Neil clears Maud’s flat then promptly moves in. He attends the funeral and flirts at the wake but can’t fully account for a painting missing from her estate.

Maud may be dead, but it’s not the end yet…


Nat Keane never forgot her first murder. Sandie Thurston was killed and mutilated in her own bed. Five-year-old Amy lay beside her, soaked in her mother’s blood.

Nat was the first police officer on the scene. She was the family liaison officer who got close to the family. Too close. When a man was convicted, she walked away, lonely and broken.

Ten years on she has another life. She has a job she loves counselling trauma victims and a home with her partner, Dylan, a criminal lawyer. So when Martin, husband of the murdered Sandie, asks her to work with him and Amy, why does she agree to go back?

Amy’s evidence was key to getting a conviction. Now the media are hinting that she got it wrong. Martin is tortured by a guilt he won’t explain. At fifteen, Amy is alternately needy and hostile – a devoted daughter who deceives her father, a sheltered child who can’t stop taking risks.

As Nat is drawn into the family’s secrets, is she helping them find the truth or complicit in their lies? Who did kill Sandie? And why, just when Nat needs Dylan’s support, is he distracted by a controversial case of his own?

Recognition is a compelling novel of psychological suspense, set in and around Leeds in the early 2000s.